Foreign Language Exams

The Faculty of Arts conducts examinations in foreign languages, coordinated by the Center for Pedagogical Education.

The University of Ljubljana's Faculty of Arts provides exams in foreign languages, coordinated by the Centre for Pedagogical Education (CPE).

This exams are intended for candidates with at least a minimum knowledge of a foreign language who require a certificate of knowledge of a foreign language for personal or official purposes, e.g. for enrolment in graduate study, applying for employment or a scholarship, or for study abroad. The Faculty of Arts only offers exams, while the choice of language education is at the candidate's discretion.

Languages Available

We offer exams in 22 languages:  English, German, Dutch, Swedish, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Croatian, Serbian, Macedonian, Russian, Czech, Slovak, Polish, Hungarian, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, New and Ancient Greek and Latin.

There is no official schedule for foreign language examinations. The candidate is required to contact the appropriate examiner for each language and set the date and time. In modern (European) languages he/she should also inform the examiner about the level of the Common European Language Framework (CEFR) at which he/she wishes to take the exam. You can help yourself with the self-assessment grid or the application.

English

Lecturer Contacts (email and telephone)
red. prof. dr. Jason Blake
 
blake.jason@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 60
red. prof. dr. Lilijana Burcar
 
lilijana.burcar@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
doc. dr. Lara Burazer

lara.burazer@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 40

doc. dr. Nataša Hirci natasa.hirci@guest.arnes.si 
T: 01 241 15 04
lekt. dr. Veronika Rot Gabrovec
 
veronika.rot-gabrovec@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 66
red. prof. dr. Janez Skela
 
janez.skela@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 40
lekt. dr. Cvetka Sokolov
 
cvetka.sokolov@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
doc. dr. Andrej Stopar
 

andrej.stopar@ff.uni-lj.si
 T: 01 241 13 60

lekt. dr. Mirjana Želježič
 
mirjana.zeljezic@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 68
doc. dr. Tamara Mikolič Južnič

 tamara.mikolic@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 15 04

Czech

lekt. Bojana Maltarić Aškerčeva 1, 
Kabinet 15
bojana.maltaric@siol.net
T: 01 241 16 82

French

izr. prof. dr. Meta Lah 427 B

meta.lah@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 04

doc. dr. Sonia Vaupot     23 sonia.vaupot@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 2411 227  
lekt. dr. Jacqueline Oven 427 B
 
jacqueline.oven@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 04
lekt. mag. Nataša Žugelj 427 B 
 
natasa.zugelj@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 04

Greek (ancient and modern)

red. prof. dr. Jerneja Kavčič 328 
 
jerneja.kavcic@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 16

Croatian

doc. dr. Tatjana Balažic Bulc
217  tatjana.balazic-bulc@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 12 96

Italian

lekt. mag. Kaja Katarina Brecelj 402 KajaKatarina.Brecelj@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 12
doc. dr. Jana Kenda 402 jana.kenda@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 12
doc. dr. Tamara Mikolič Južnič  23a

tamara.mikolic@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 15 04

asist. dr. Mirjam Premrl Podobnik    406 mirjam.premrl@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 13 98

Japanese

izr. prof. dr. Shigemori Bučar Chikako R6B I 
 
Chikako.Bucar@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 13 08
doc. dr. Kristina Hmeljak R10B1 
 
Kristina.Hmeljak@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 46
doc. dr. Nagisa Moritoki R6B1 Nagisa.Moritoki@guest.arnes.si

Chinese

red. prof. dr. Mitja Saje R7B1 
 
Mitja.Saje@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 48
red. prof. dr. Jana S. Rošker R12B1
 
Jana.Rosker@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 98
izr. prof. dr. Mateja Petrovčič R11B1
 
mateja.petrovcic@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 44
izr. prof. dr.. Nataša Vampelj Suhadolnik R11B1
 
natasa.vampeljsuhadolnik@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 14 44

Korean

asist. mag. Eva Vučkovič R8B/I

Eva.Vuckovic@ff.uni-lj.si           
T: 01 24 11 318

Latin

lekt. Breda Čop 327
 
breda.cop@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 18
lekt. Barbara Šega Čeh 327 barbara.sega@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 14 18

Hungarian

lekt. Tamás Kruzslicz
R16BI kruzslicztamas@gmail.com

Macedonian

izr. prof. dr. Namita Subiotto 208
 
namita.subiotto@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 12 74

German

doc. dr. Andreja Retelj 317

andreja.retelj@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 13 44

doc. dr. Urška Valenčič Arh 118

urska.valencic-arh@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 13 54

asist. dr. Mojca Leskovec 508

mojca.leskovec@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 10 47

Dutch

doc. dr. Anita Srebnik 118

anita.srebnik@ff.uni-lj.si          

Polish

izr. prof. dr. Maria Wtorkowska Tobačna 5, 
Kabinet 5/2/03
mariazofia.wtorkowska@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 16 42

Portuguese

doc. dr. Blažka Müller-Pograjc
R 8 B/I blazka.müller@guest.arnes.si
041 523 758

Russian

lekt. Marina Spanring Poredoš 212
 
marina.spanring-poredos@ff.uni-lj.si
T: 01 241 12 86

Slovak

lekt. Darija Pivk Tobačna 5, 
Kabinet 1
darija.pivk@ff.uni-lj.si

Serbian

doc. dr. Tatjana Balažic Bulc
217 tatjana.balazic-bulc@guest.arnes.si
T: 01 241 12 96

Spanish

lekt. dr. Andreja Trenc
 R 5 B/I

andreja.trenc@ff.uni-lj.si
 T: 01 241 1442

Swedish

lekt. Mita Gustinčič Pahor 13 Mita.GustinčičPahor@ff.uni-lj.si
 

 

No special preparations are required to attend the examination (e.g. no special preliminary courses). The examination usually includes testing communicative competencies in four categories, namely: writing, reading comprehension, oral communication, and listening comprehension. Candidates can obtain more detailed descriptions of the examinations and instructions regarding exam preparation from individual examiners.

In modern (European) languages English, German, Dutch, French, Italian, Spanish, Croatian, Serbian, Czech, Polish, Slovak and Russian, as well as in Korean, the exams are conducted at A2–C2 levels according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). After successfully passing the exam in the above languages candidates will receive a Slovene-English certificate stating the level according to the CEFR.

In other languages, the level of language assessed in the exam is not determined by the exam catalog, but can be described in a "communicative" sense. The exams are therefore pragmatically based: they take into account language use, i. e. for example the ability to communicate on current social, everyday, political topics, etc., and the certificate does not indicate the level according to the CEFR.

The candidates should contact the CPE during office hours (every day 11:00–13:00) and before attending the examination. If the examination fee is being paid for by your employer or another legal person, you must submit the original order form in advance. Complaints made at a later time will not be considered.

The contact person for information regarding foreign language examinations is dr. Mojca Leskovec (mojca.leskovec@ff.uni-lj.si, Phone: +386 1 241 10 47).

The price of a foreign language examination is 123,02 EUR.

Notification

During the epidemic, foreign language exams are conducted remotely via videoconferencing tools and exam.net.